This guide is for those who are part of a Group Workspace.
Each member has a role that defines what they can see and do in the workspace. Most members will have the role of “Employee.”
How to manage user roles
To find and edit the roles of group workspace members, go to Settings > Workspaces > Group > [Workspace Name] > Members > Workspace Members
Here you’ll see the list of members in your group workspace. To change their roles, click Settings next to the member’s name and choose the role that the member needs.
Next, let’s go over the various user roles that are available on a group workspace.
The Employee Role
- What can they do: Employees can only see their own expense reports or reports that have been submitted to or shared with them. They can’t change settings or invite new users.
- Who is it for: Regular employees who only need to manage their own expenses, or managers who are reviewing expense reports for a few users but don’t need global visibility.
- Approvers: Members who approve expenses can either be Employees, Admins, or Workspace Auditors, depending on how much control they need.
- Billable: Employees are billable actors if they take actions on a report on your Group Workspace (including SmartScanning a receipt).
Workspace Admin Role
- What can they do: Admins have full control. They can change settings, invite members, and view all reports. They can also process reimbursements if they have access to the company’s account.
- Billing Owners: Billing owners are Admins by default. Workspace Admins are assigned by the owner or another admin.
- Billable: Yes, if they perform actions like changing settings or inviting users. Just viewing reports is not billable.
Workspace Auditor Role
- What can they do: Workspace Auditors can see all reports, make comments, and export them. They can also mark reports as reimbursed if they’re the final approver.
- Who is it for: Accountants, bookkeepers, and internal or external audit agents who need to view but not edit workspace settings.
- Billable: Yes, if they perform any actions like commenting or exporting a report. Viewing alone doesn’t incur a charge.
- What can they do: In case of connection issues, alerts go to the billing owner by default. You can set a technical contact if you want alerts to go to an IT administrator instead.
- How to set one: Go to Settings > Workspaces > Group > [Workspace Name] > Connections > Technical Contact.
- Billable: The technical contact doesn’t need to be a group workspace member and so is not counted towards your billable activity.
Note: running expense analytics from Insights follows the same rules. All the reports and data graphs you generate will be created based on the expense data you have access to.
Expense Data Visibility
The amount of expense data you can see depends on your role within any group workspaces you’re part of:
- Employees: Whether you’re on a free or paid plan, if you’re not approving expenses, you’ll only see your own expenses.
- Approvers: If you approve expenses for your team and also submit your own, you can view both individual and team-wide expenses and analytics.
- Admins: Users with an admin role can see analytics and data for every expense report made by anyone on the workspace.
If you need to see more data, here are some options:
- Become an Admin: Check within your organization if you can be upgraded to an admin role in your group workspaces.
- Become a Copilot: Ask to be added as a Copilot to an existing admin account, which will allow you some additional viewing privileges.
- Become an Approver: You could also be added as an Approver in an existing workflow to view more data.