Merging accounts allows you to combine two accounts. When you combine two accounts, all receipts, expenses, expense reports, invoices, bills, imported cards, secondary logins, co-pilots, and group workspace settings will be combined into one account. This can be useful if you start off with an account of your own but your organization creates a separate account for you. You can then track both personal and business expenses via one account.
How to merge accounts
Merging two accounts together is fairly straightforward. Let’s go over how to do that below:
- Navigate to expensify.com
- Log into the account you want to set as the Primary account
- Navigate to Settings > Account > Account Details
- Scroll down to Merge Accounts and fill in the fields
- Click Merge Accounts
- Once you click Merge, a magic code is sent to you via email
- Paste the code into the required field If you have any questions about this process, feel free to reach out to Concierge for some assistance!
Can you merge accounts from the mobile app?
No, accounts can only be merged from the full website at expensify.com.
Can I administratively merge two accounts together?
No, only the account holder (member) can perform account merging.
Is merging accounts reversible?
No, merging accounts is not reversible. It is a permanent action that cannot be undone.
I have open expenses in the account I’m merging from. Will those expenses merge into the new account?
All expenses must be reported and submitted for them to merge into the new account. Any open expenses will not merge.
Are there any restrictions on account merging?
Yes! Please see below:
- If your email address belongs to a verified domain (verified in Expensify), you must start the process from the email account under the verified domain. You cannot merge a verified company email account into a personal account.
- If you have two accounts with two different verified domains, you cannot merge them together.
What happens to my “personal” Individual workspace when merging accounts?
The old “personal” Individual workspace is deleted. If you plan to submit reports under a different workspace in the future, ensure that any reports on the Individual workspace in the old account are marked as Open before merging the accounts. You can typically do this by selecting “Undo Submit” on any submitted reports.